Finishing Touches!

It’s time the finally make the kitchen look  our own. Check out some of the final details we added!

Chalkboard

We have a pass through that looks out into the dining room from the kitchen, as well as a walkway between the two rooms. The result is a narrow strip of wall, so we decked it out with a chalkboard. Making the chalkboard was SUPER easy, and costs around $10. Just take a piece of plywood (we got ours pre-cut, for about $4.00) and some chalkboard spray paint (also around $4.00).  The chalk holder is a $1 outlet cover from Home Depot that I velcro’d on. Very easy.

DIY Chalkboard!

DIY Chalkboard!

$1.00 Outlet cover doubling as chalk tray!

$1.00 Outlet cover doubling as chalk tray!

Hanging Mason Jars

Evan is a HUGE fan of mason jars. He loves using them for all sorts of things. I knew I wanted something to hang above the kitchen sink. I had in mind some sort of sun-catcher, or mobile of some sort. Turns out its hard to find good looking mobiles that don’t belong over a baby’s crib. So I decided to hang some jars. I made the handles myself using the instructions from here. I hung them using fishing line on plant hooks. It looks great when there are candles lit, but for rest of the time, when you don’t feel like getting out the step stool and the lighter, I bought these. It’s the same kind of solar lamp used in those steaks you can put in front of your house, but it’s a mason jar lid. They were $10 bucks a piece. I had to spend about $60 for that project, but I have a LOT of left over mason jars. (Everyone can expect a Christmas gift that comes in a mason jar this year.)

DIY mason jar lantern.

DIY mason jar lantern.

Open Shelving

I’m willing to admit that the kitchen might look  better without the open shelves that Evan installed, but I’m not  willing to concede that it would function better. And that’s not to say it looks bad. We just have to be careful about what we chose to display. The shelves cost about $30 total. Grundtal from IKEA.  Easy decision!

This is only half of our giant mug collection.

This is only half of our giant mug collection.

Under Cabinet Lighting

This is my favorite thing! We ended up using our credit card reward points to buy these on amazon.  It would have cost about $100 out of pocket, but we’d put the kitchen on our credit card, and so these paid for themselves. My favorite part is that the light changes color! (We first went to IKEA, but their multicolored lights didn’t have a “white” option, which is a deal breaker.) Surprisingly, it was hard to find LED lights that could change color and brightness. Our kitchen is a pretty neutral palette, so I like the fact that the ability to change the color of the lights adds some versatility. Plus they’re just cool.

It was not photographing nicely, so this is the best pic I could get.

It was not photographing nicely, so this is the best pic I could get.

One thought on “Finishing Touches!

Leave a Reply

