A Long Overdue Update

Dear Readers,

I had stopped updating the blog (unceremoniously) because I had figured that when you buy a new house, distant friends and family might want to read what you’ve been up to. Once you’ve had your house for a while, people don’t really care anymore. To carry on seemed a little self-important. Does everyone really want to know every time I sew a pillow? I doubt it. You probably don’t want to know every single thing that I do, but I can still keep you posted on the big stuff. (I’m thinking total kitchen remodel somewhere down the road.)

I was surprised to log into my email to find a couple comments on a post that I’d written some time ago. I got over 80 hits today on a post that I’d written about making a draft blocker. Apparently it’s been doing OK on pinterest. It was a craft I did without the help of any internet tutorials already in existence. I guess the next time I create my own DIY I’ll have to make a post. Sadly, it’s been a while.

Anyway, I’ll give you the cliff notes version of what’s been happening around our house for the past few months so that we can get that out of the way….

Hurricane Sandy

We actually fared well. We lost power intermittently, enough to have to toss the food in the fridge. It was OK though, a lot of people all around us suffered much more . We have gas hot water and stove. It was warm enough that we didn’t need heat so we were fine. Our shed, for which we had just put up a new door and ramp, suffered a little roof damage. It was only on the eave though. (Sidenote: eave was a word I learned only after this experience, so there is the silver lining.)

A giant branch from our neighbors yard on the "eave" of our roof.

A giant branch from our neighbors yard on the “eave” of our roof.

Christmas Card

If you don’t have any kids, sending out a Christmas card with photos seems a little vein. Last year we got the house, so we wanted to send everyone a picture of it. This year we got the dog, so we wanted to send everyone a picture of her. Our picture taking abilities leave something to be desired. See evidence below.

One of our "Christmas Card" pics

We’re all at our most attractive here. Yes, this is it.

One thing you may notice in this above picture is that we got a new coffee table. It came from West Elm and I love it. Bonus:  it’s “adult” furniture. I would include more pictures, but West Elm is obviously better with a camera than I am, so you can check it out here. It replaced a $20 ikea table. We even got  a matching console table. So…we have matching furniture now. Oooh. Ahhhh.

New Car

I still love me ’07 Civic – but it was time to upgrade and become a two car family, so we added one to the fleet: a 2013 Jetta Sportwagen TDI. I’ve been getting 47 mpg on my commute with this bad boy. Plus we got a pretty tricked out model. Here it is in the showroom….

New CAAAAARRRR!

New CAAAAARRRR!

Homemade Gifts

Between Evan and I, we know a lot of people to whom we would like to give small gifts around the holidays. So, this year I DIY’d 10 of these little guys and they seem to have been a pretty big hit. I can’t take the credit for this stupidly easy project. If you want to try it, go here. Since I already had yarn, stamps, and sugar, the only cost was the jars, soap and tags.

"Great job, Christine!"  - I know, right?

“Great job, Christine!” – I know, right?

So, there we go. We’re all caught up. Now I feel like I can formally bid farewell for now. I truly am saving up for a kitchen renovation, so I’ll make sure to post pictures of myself going nuts with a sludge hammer when the time comes. But the new clock I put up?  You won’t hear as much about that stuff for now.

Yours Intermittently,

Christine

One thought on “A Long Overdue Update

Leave a Reply

