I’ve been meaning to do that: Bathroom Window Treatment

Up until the other day,our bathroom looked like this.

Downstairs bathroom

Besides the tiles, which I really don’t like but can tolerate in that bathroom, the one thing that sticks out to me as ugly is that valance. It’s so gold and wavy and fringy. Not my style. It’s only redeeming quality is that it prevented back yard bystanders from accidentally subjecting themselves to a view of someone using the restroom.

I’m a little bit embarrassed to say that it’s remained up in the window until now. There are a lot of things in the house that I feel need to go: bathroom tile, everything in the kitchen, trees in the front yard, etc. But all those things are large, expensive undertakings. This dinky curtain could’ve probably been replaced with $15 and a trip to Target any any point within the last 10 months. Why keep something stupid like that in your house if you don’t like it?

So I bought some fabric and whipped up a little tie up curtain.

Tie up curtain!

It’s not a home run as far as fabric color and matching the bathroom, but it’s the direction I’d like to move in. I like that the pattern is really large. If you can’t see the pattern, it’s birds in cages. This was really easy to make. It cost me around $40, but it only took about a half hour. Basically, you just cut the fabric to the dimensions of your window, hem all the way around, and tie it up with some ribbon. You could probably make this with those no-sew iron strips too. I highly recommend this curtain in conjunction with blinds -it’s really quite easy. I ordered 1.5 yards and ended up having some extra fabric. Frames were 40% off, so I spent a few bucks and got some picture frames and an idea.

What can very loosely be referred to as DIY art.

The light in the bathroom made them look too yellow and washed out, but here they are up on the wall. Sorry, I’m just using my iPhone 4 for these pics.

The colors are a little less offensive in person, I swear.

Bathroom decoration is hard for me. Portraits (or any art featuring things with eyes) are out – I don’t want anyone looking at my while I’m  doing my business! I’m also not much a fan of words that some people put out in their like, “Love, Laugh, Live” and all that stuff. It’s fine for other people, but I guess I don’t feel I need the reminder.  I’m not sure how I feel about having this up in the same room as the curtain (too matchy-matchy?) but it satisfies me for now. I’m thinking of painting the frames white, but I’m going to sleep on it.

Leave a Reply

