DIY project how I like it: cheap & easy

Etsy inpiration

Pinterest is blowing up lately, and I’ve been pinning a lot of stuff lately. One project I found was from etsy. When you look at it, if you’re anything like me, you think, “Well, I can do that.” So I did. Well, not the exact same thing, but something certainly inspired by the nail & thread art above.

The first thing I did was buy some thread, nails, acrylic paint, and plywood. The total ran me about $10, and they even cut the plywood for me at the store.

Threads

 

Once I’d acquired all of the necessary materials, I painted the plywood. I didn’t take a picture of that because it’s pretty straight forward. The next thing I did was print out the shapes that I wanted to use from the computer. I cut them out, and arranged them on the board.

Cutting was never my strong point.

I nailed around the outside edge of the stencils. It’s really important to make sure that the nails are in straight, that they are equidistant from another, and that they are all of roughly equal height.

I damaged the paint job in some places due to my naturally superior hammering skills.

The last step is to go crazy with the string. The best technique I found was to trace the outline of the letters first, and then make sure to connect every possible nail in every which way. Here’s the finished product…

Ta-Da!

Here’s another vantage point.

It's 3D!

This project was as easy as it was cheap. I would suppose  a 9 year old could complete it just about as well as I have. I don’t know if I LOVE it, but I definitely feel like it’s good enough to hang up for now until I find something I really like. I think I’ll hang it up in the downstairs bathroom. I prefer art work in the bathroom that has no people on it; I don’t want to feel eyes on me in the restroom! Landscapes, or a large print of some photography might look nice, but I don’t have any of that stuff. I had $10, and now I have this. Would I do it again? Eh, maybe. One of these is definitely plenty, but it gave my something to do while I sat in front of the TV.

 

One thought on “DIY project how I like it: cheap & easy

Leave a Reply

