A Reasoned Argument For Dryers

She's a beauty!

The washer/dryer set that was included with our house was in some pretty rough condition when we moved in, so we figured it would only be a matter of time before they needed replacing. Fortunately, as I’ve mentioned before, Evan’s cousins had a spare set that they were looking to get rid of. It was a good thing to, because the washing machine bought the farm halfway through it’s second load. The dryer held out longer – about 6 weeks. While the old dryer was  electric, our so generously donated dryer is gas. Since it will be cheaper (hopefully) to run the gas dryer over time, we ran the gas line from the hot water heater to the new dryer. I say we, but if course, I contributed absolutely nothing.

During the interim we hung our clothes on laundry racks. I know it’s “greener”, and there are certainly things that I prefer to hang dry, but having a dryer that works is freaking awesome.

Here’s why….

  1. I can do all my laundry at my house! (Shut up, to me this is still novel.)
  2. I no longer have to hoard quarters.
  3. Large blankets do not require a trip to the laundromat!
  4. Clothes that hang on a drying rack are covered in lint, and I look like a slob in them.
  5. I can get out of the shower and put on warm clothes fresh out of the dryer.

This last one in particular is a gift from The Gods. It’s how I know I’m living in the “first world.” Glory be, it is a wonderful thing to live with a dyer.

Leave a Reply

